2014 Land Conservation Leadership Award Nominations

Gathering Waters Conservancy’s Land Conservation Leadership Awards recognize the outstanding accomplishments of individuals, policy makers and land trusts working to protect Wisconsin’s special places. These awards honor the power of committed citizens and offer inspiring examples of conservation success.

Land Trust of the Year

This award recognizes a land trust that demonstrates its commitment to permanently safeguard Wisconsin’s natural treasures and open lands through its leadership, achievements, projects and more.

Green Lake Conservancy

The Conservation Fund


Conservationist of the Year

This award recognizes individuals, organizations or groups that exhibit extraordinary commitment to Wisconsin’s land conservation movement.

Ron Martin

Melissa Cook

Stuart Nelson

Roy & Charlotte Lukes

Matt Dallman


Rod Nilsestuen Award for Working Lands Preservation

This award recognizes individuals or organizations that exhibit extraordinary commitment to the preservation of Wisconsin’s working lands.

Coreen Fallatt

Margaret Burlingham


Policy Maker of the Year

This award recognizes individuals whose dedicated efforts have helped to bring forth or strengthen policy on behalf of land conservation throughout Wisconsin.

Karen Blodgett

Dale Schultz

Eric Schumann

Tom Petri (pending)


Award with a Harold "Bud" Jordahl Distinction

Each year, the Selection Committee receives a number of nominations describing extraordinary land conservation projects, accomplishments, pursuits, partnerships, etc., that are highly deserving of an award, but do not fit perfectly into any one award category. Or, the nominee may indeed fit into a category, but for some reason or other the Committee may feel the nominee deserves an extra special nod. Under these circumstances, the Selection Committee may elect to honor such a nominee with an award bearing the Harold “Bud” Jordahl distinction. Examples from the past include the Harold “Bud” Jordahl Lifetime Achievement Award, the Harold "Bud" Jordahl Partnership of the Year, the Harold "Bud" Jordahl Stewardship Award and the Harold "Bud" Jordahl Land Trust Pioneer Award.

Royse & Barbara Myers

Charles Brumder

Menomonee Valley Partners/Urban Ecology Center Project Inc.

Read Our Blog