2018 Land Conservation Leadership Awards Celebration

Awards Celebration Invite Graphic


Join us on Sep 20, 2018 • Monona Terrace, Madison, WI • 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Register online and take advantage of Early Bird pricing until August 1

 Land Conservation Leadership Awards recognize the outstanding accomplishments of individuals, policymakers, land trusts, and other groups who work to protect the places that make Wisconsin special. The awards honor the power of committed citizens and offer inspiring examples of conservation success.

There will be a silent auction, heavy appetizers, desserts, and a cash bar--though each attendee will receive one complimentary drink ticket!


Meet the 2018 Land Conservation Leadership Award winners: 

Land Trust of the Year – Waukesha County Land Conservancy (WCLC) began as an all-volunteer organization in 1992, safeguarding Wisconsin's natural treasures through the acquisition and protection of environmentally significant land and water. Since then, WCLC has protected more than 2,900 acres, is working to restore a 52-acre Nature Preserve on the Mukwonago River to a high-functioning wetland, and developed a successful internship and volunteer program that engaged over 75 college student volunteers in over 7,000 hours over two and a half years.

Conservationist of the Year – Pat Caffrey of Trempealeau has been an integral part of the conservation community in Wisconsin for more than 40 years. Pat helped set up many local conservation organizations. With his guidance, Mississippi Valley Conservancy transformed from an all-volunteer organization to an accredited, staffed land trust, with a nine-county service area. He consistently brings his skills, passion, professionalism, and knowledge to everything he does. He leads the charge for conservation through environmental education and his ability to bring individuals and groups together.

Rod Nilsestuen Award for Working Lands Preservation – Jimmy VandenBrook of Mount Horeb works to find solutions to conserve valuable land and water resources and address some of the most challenging issues facing agricultural and natural resources in Wisconsin. Since retiring from the Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection, Jimmy has served as the Executive Director of Wisconsin Land and Water Conservation Association. Among other things, he created a task force that conducted a two-year, in-depth study that will provide guidance and direction for working land conservation efforts in the future.

Harold "Bud" Jordahl Lifetime Achievement Award – Jan Zimmermann of Madison has been a devoted conservationist in both the public and private sectors for 35 years. Jan was a strong advocate for the passage of Dane County's $30 million Conservation Fund Referendum, served on land trust boards, and developed creative approaches to secure revenue and implement land acquisition around the state. Jan has helped permanently protect lands for Dane County, the Ice Age National Scenic Trail, Greenseams Milwaukee, and Town of Dunn farms—a legacy for Wisconsin residents and visitors for generations. 

Be sure to reserve a spot at the 2018 Land Conservation Leadership Awards Celebration!


Become a sponsor of the event!

Learn about our Individual Sponsor Benefits. 


 A special thank you to our generous sponsors!


Lead Sponsors


Alliant Energy Foundation Logo



Forest County Potawatomi Logo


MG&E Logo





Land Legacy Sponsors 

Althea Dotzour Photography

Celebrations Entertainment

Kristine Euclide & Douglas Steege

Schreiber GR Group



Land & Water Guardians

Pure Sweet Honey Farm




Stewardship Supporters

Carl & Barbara Schwartz

Development for Conservation, LLC

Jan Zimmermann

Jim Welsh & Kevin Lee

Law Office of Peter E. McKeever, LLC

Levi & Janet Wood

Marcia MacKenzie & Jerry Borseth

Mike & Barbara Wollmer

Philip A. Hardacre

 Swamplovers Foundation